Tanner Brightman Teaching Philosophy

Tanner Brightman: Teaching Philosophy Statement

Education is exactly what youth need to find answers, solve problems and better understand life. I as a teacher hope to assist in the development of knowledge of students.

Being a teacher, I wish for students to not only question what they see or read, but what they hear as well. My classroom is open for discussion and I will be the judge of when discussion crosses the line, though if set up properly it should never get to that point.  I want my students engaging with one another with the level of comfort they feel outside of the classroom. I firmly believe that teaching can be done anywhere and should not be constrained to the four walls of the standard “classroom”. The outdoors is as much a space as it is a learning tool and is often taken for granted by most. The outdoors can be used with many subjects and the possibilities are endless when talking about cross-curricular competencies.

 

I bring many things to my teaching that not many other teachers have. I am willing to put in extra time with teams, clubs, productions and other school related tasks that go beyond the standard school day. Whether I am coaching or teaching I believe in whole part theory. Introducing the whole of an idea and later letting students go through a wobble stage until they need assistance, which then begins the breakdown of my teaching. We learn just as much, if not more from our mistakes then as we do from our successes.

 

Debate can often allow opinions to be heard and social studies as a course is one of the easiest debated topics possible. History as a whole is constantly debated on regards to choices made and consequences that follow and teaching social in a form of debate will allow students to consider their own views on these choices and consequences.

 

Throughout my life I have been fortunate enough to have exceptional role models and people who I will cherish and reflect on forever. I as a teacher hope to do this for students with a “open door policy”, and establish meaningful relationships with each of my students. I will look to make students in charge of their marks weighting as I believe in fair choice in relation to personal strength. One student may wish to have their essay valued at 25% of their final grade while another will allocate 30% of their YouTube presentation towards the final grade.

 

Finally, I look to encourage the ideas of teamwork and support from peer to peer and teacher to student. Thought I strongly love social and physical activity I do not believe “jocks” and memorizing masters make up the whole of education. We as teachers must force our students to inquire deeper then the surface that most textbooks offer. Students must teach students, and teachers must learn from students, this holistic approach will make our education approach stronger and stronger.

 

Below are articles that represent my teaching philosophy:

This represents the importance of questioning, something I hold very close to my teaching philosophy. 

http://blogs.kqed.org/mindshift/2014/03/why-its-imperative-to-teach-students-how-to-question-as-the-ultimate-survival-skill/

I think this next article, although written by a basketball coach can be applied to the classroom with the ability to lead and be a role model, taking players and changing them into students fits this article and someone I see as a role model and a great teacher. 

http://www.leadershipnow.com/leadingblog/2013/06/phil_jacksons_11_principles_of.html

Lastly I think a huge part of my teaching is the regards to social justice and how teaching should affect students beyond the classroom

http://www.rethinkingschools.org/static/publication/roc1/Intro.pdf

Leave a Reply

